top of page

Mayshe-Mayshe EPK

Mayshe-Mayshe 2022-1.jpg

'Immaculately minimal DIY gems' - Narc Magazine


'A unique and inventive talent' - Louder Than War


'A one-woman pop machine' - Under The Radar

"Yorkshire’s dreamy electro-pop alchemist" - Every Day Is A Rhythm

Photo is credit free - Download press photos

Listen to Indigo (Pre-release playlist)

Album title: Indigo

Release date: 11 November 2022 (album)

Single release dates: Dark Mountain - 23 Sept 2022,  Indigo (song) - 21 Oct 2022

Label: Self-released

18 September 2022: Mayshe-Mayshe is set to release her second album “Indigo” in November 2022, a dreamy art-pop exploration of dark moods and ethical dilemmas. 

Mayshe-Mayshe is the solo project of Yorkshire-based writer-producer Alice Rowan. Since releasing her debut LP Cocoa Smoke in 2018, much in the world has changed - or at least become more apparent. Her new album follows suit by unpeeling layers of ennui, uncertainty and melancholy against a backdrop of glittering DIY electronica.

The album is written, recorded and produced by Rowan. Embracing the DIY ethos that’s a clear drive behind all Rowan’s creative output, she’s spent the last years honing her production and home recording skills. “Learning to self-produce my music has been such a joyful, empowering experience - it feels like having a super power, having this new ability to create sonic worlds from my sofa.”

The result is a work with added depth: the dreamy bedroom pop of Mayshe’s debut album Cocoa Smoke remains intact on Indigo, but the lo-fi recording style is bolstered by muscular production and rich textures.  Rowan’s frequent collaborator and Living Body bandmate Jeff T. Smith performed mixing and co-production duties.

Rowan’s confidently introspective lyrics don’t shy away from dark themes. Many tracks on the album explore themes of anxiety, depression and burn out with a raw honesty, and in But I Do we experience a breathless stream of consciousness on the cognitive dissonance wrought by attempting ethics under consumerism. If Cocoa Smoke skirted the borders, Indigo is deep in the heart of the forest.

Since releasing her debut Album Cocoa Smoke in 2018 Mayshe-Mayshe has expanded her fanbase across the UK and beyond. She’s toured steadily in the north of the UK, supporting artists such as Public Service Broadcasting and She Drew The Gun. During this time Rowan has played alongside members of Juffage, Vessels and Esper scout in Leeds-based band Living Body. The release of Indigo follows a successful Kickstarter campaign supported by Rowan’s community of fans who helped bring her sophomore record to life, in exchange for hand-made merchandise and limited edition versions of the album. 

Rowan describes this new collection of songs as “pop-ponderings on the human condition.” “It's darker than Cocoa Smoke,” she says, “but with bright edges. There’s nothing like a catchy pop hook to help you process dark moments.”

Indigo will be released on physical and digital platforms on 11th November 2022. First single 'Dark Mountain' will be released on 23 September, and second single 'Indigo' (song) will be released on 21 October.


For fans of: Lorde, The XX, Grimes, Björk, Clairo,  Imogen Heap, Young Marble Giants, Tune Yards, Let’s Eat Grandma, Stealing Sheep

Indigo album artwork by Mayshe-Mayshe

Indigo album cover for digital - darker_edited.jpg

Tracklist (singles in bold): 

  1. But I Do

  2. Dark Mountain

  3. Moonflood

  4. Velvet

  5. Monastery

  6. Colours of Anxiety

  7. Eczema

  8. How To Be Happy

  9. Zachter

  10. Flood-drone

  11. Indigo


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Spotify

For all press enquiries:

Please contact Alice Rowan on

bottom of page